New STFC Executive Director, National Laboratories Science and Technologies
26 Jul 2023




Professor David Newbold (left), Executive
Director, National Laboratories Science and 
Technologies, and Dr Anna Orlowska, Technology 
Department Director (right) 

Experimental particle physicist Professor David Newbold has commenced work as Executive Director, National Laboratories Science and Technologies.​

Professor Newbold is an internationally recognised physicist who has made notable contributions to his field.

For the last five years he has served as the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) Director of Particle Physics.

National research resource

As Executive Director, National Laboratories Science and Technologies, Professor Newbold will oversee the activities of over 1,400 engineering, scientific and research staff across STFC departments.

Due to their scale and complexity, the departments are operated as a national research resource for the UK.

Experience and expertise

His previous scientific management and leadership posts include acting as UK lead and spokesperson on the Compact Muon Solenoid experiment, at the CERN Large Hadron Collider, and chair of the European Laboratory Directors Group.

As Executive Director, National Laboratories Science and Technologies, he will drive new plans to develop flagship STFC facilities and projects, at UK sites such as Boulby Underground Laboratory and internationally.

Professor Newbold will also continue to champion sustainable big science, drawing on his experience shaping the strategic visions of large-scale facilities, and will provide leadership for STFC’s programmes in:

  • fundamental physics

  • astronomy

  • quantum technologies

  • artificial intelligence

  • exascale computing​

Further infortmation

The National Laboratories consist of:​

Accelerator Science and Technology Centre
Central Laser Facility​
Hartree Centre
ISIS Neutron and Muon Source
National Quantum Computing Centre
Particle Physics Department including Boulby Underground Laboratory
RAL Space​
Scientific Computing Department
Technology Department
UK Astronomy Technology Centre